Bild: Stefanie Eichler CC

The General Student Committee (AStA) of the University of Mannheim is your student representation.
The officers and the chairpersons represent your interests in university politics not only at the university level, but also at the regional and state level.

 Wanja Pasdzierny (he/him) [lgl] & Celina Kapuscinski (she/her) [Juso-HSG]

Marco Haupt (he/him) [lgl] in comission

Henrik Tadge (he/him)

Vincent Spies (he/him) [lgl]

Yagmur Yeic (she/her) [Juso-HSG]

Maurice Preiser (he/him) [lgl] in comission

Sven Mertlich (he/him)

Charlotte Grünen (she/her) [AGA]

Julian Schmiedel (he/him) [AGA] in comission

Ali Insan (he/him) [lgl]

Maurice Möller (he/him) [AGA] in comission

Sarah Fröschl (she/her)

Paula Schmelzer (she/her) in comission

Leonardo Gallo (he/him)

Jonas Bauer (he/him)

Queer im Schloss is part of the AStA and thus the voice for LGBTQIA+ students and their concerns. Our goals are to provide a safe space at the University of Mannheim, to make sure that we as students are represented in processes at the university and to increase the respect for and visibility of LGBTQIA+ people on campus.

Climate Change Lecture Series

We For You

This is not just our promise, but also our goal.
We are committed to ensuring that each and every student can organize his or her studies as individually and pleasantly as possible.
To this end, we address issues such as attendance and cooperation requirements, library opening hours, and the expansion of the dining hall menu to include more varied dishes by engaging in dialogue with a wide variety of representatives.

In contrast to the departmental representatives, the General Student Committee does not only deal with the interests of individual faculties, but tries to represent the interests of all students.

Verfasste Studierendenschaft

The Students’ Union (Verfasste Studierendenschaft/VS) is an independent corporation under public law and as such a member of the University of Mannheim.

The AStA is the executive body of the students’ union of the University of Mannheim.

In addition to the AStA, there is the student parliament as a legislative body. Here sit the members of various university groups elected by all students.

On the faculty level there are the departmental representatives; your representation of interests on the student council level.

General Students’ Committee (AStA)

In addition to its task as a representation of interests, the AStA organizes a huge range of mostly free offers and events on campus. There are over 40 volunteers working in the various departments, who use your VS semester fee to make offers such as free legal counseling, social counseling, VRNnextbike, the new culture ticket, and much more possible. Browse a little on our homepage and have a look at the offers and units, maybe you even want to get active yourself? If you feel like helping to shape our campus, just get in touch with us at asta[at] or write to us on our Facebook page.

Student parliament

The Student Parliament consists of 23 elected members, mostly from the 5 political university groups at the University of Mannheim: lgl (left-green-list), Juso-HSG (young labour university group), AGA (university group arrive feel well and work),  RCDS (Union of Christian Democratic Students), ANW (action sustainable economics) and Quadratdemokraten (square democrats)

The meetings of the student parliament are open to all students of the University of Mannheim.

Next sessions of the Student Parliament (in German) will be announced soon.

Departmental Student Councils (FBVen)

Business Administration



Linguistics and Literature

Media and Communication Studies

History and Classical Historical Studies

Sociology and Political Sciences


Maths and IT

Business Education